HCFR Foundation Honors Local Heroes During Annual Awards Ceremony

By Tamas Mondovics

Hillsborough County Fire Rescue (HCFR) Foundation, Inc., a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, was pleased to host its annual awards ceremony honoring nearly two dozen of its local heroes.

According to HCFR Foundation President Ronnie Rivera, the event, supported by a list of local sponsors held at The Regent in Riverview, was a great success as it welcomed dozens of members of the community.

“We wanted the community to come be part of this special event and enjoy a great night to celebrate the men and women of Hillsborough County Fire Rescue,” Rivera said.

Rivera emphasized that the ceremony honored 19 members of the department who have gone “above and beyond” in their duties to save life and preserve property.

The department was specifically thankful for the support of its local sponsors that 17 local area businesses, restaurants and community members.

“A special thanks goes to this year’s sponsors,” Rivera said, adding, “This event would not have been possible without them.”

As the official not-for-profit of Hillsborough County Fire Rescue, the Foundation’s mission is to promote Fire and Life Safety in Hillsborough County, and the professional development, training and education of members of HCFR.

The Foundation also provides funding to Hillsborough County Fire Rescue to educate, inform and involve the citizens of Hillsborough County in protecting life and property in the event of an emergency.

For more information about the Hillsborough County Fire Rescue Foundation, visit www.hcfrfoundation.org.

List of awards recipients:

Distinguished Service Citation: Marcus Martin; Tim Pollard Support Service Award: Mona Howard; Administrative Service Award: Tammy Cox; Jeffrey Holt Reserve Responder of the Year: Karla Gorostiaga; Fire Marshal Service Citation: Michael Hudkins; Achievement Service Citation: Brian Bonistalli, Cristalyn Stokes, Jessica Coy, Nacole Revette, Ronnie Rivera; Meritorius Service Citation: Chief Terry Montgomery, Kelly Hallman; Telecommunicator of the Year: Sarah Elliot; Gilbert Rodriguez Leadership Award: Captain Fred Morello; Nancy Lee McKay Paramedic of the Year: Mike Murphy; Chet Tharpe Firefighter of the Year: Jeremy Tabak; Timothy Rumrell Medal of Valor: Clint Walker, Shawn Hayston, Kevin Kahmeyer.

Previous articleHillsborough County Hosts 50th Annual Veterans Day Tribute
Next articleLowe’s Heroes Teams Up With Rotary’s Camp Florida To Provide New Dock For Campers