By Tamas Mondovics

Coaches, parents and fans of the East Bay Buccaneers Youth Football and Cheerleading organization could hardly be more pleased with their young players this fall.

Sporting one of the best seasons in program history, the Buccaneers Pee Wee (14-0) and Midgets (14-0) teams have both enjoyed the limelight as this year’s Super Bowl champions.

Hosted by the Brandon Lions, the day-long battle for the trophy also produced the Brandon Cowboys Mighty Mites (13-1), the Plant City Dolphins Junior Varsity (14-0) and Turkey Creek Trojans Varsity (10-2) as Super Bowl winners.

For the win, the Buccaneers Pee Wee team faced off against Plant City Trojans and walked away with an 18-6 victory to earn the title.

Adding to the season success, East Bay has managed to secure the top three spots in four of its divisions with the junior varsity team posting fifth out of the 12 participating programs in Tri-County Youth Football & Cheerleading Conference (TCYFCC).

“We had a solid season loaded with energetic kids, who all played hard,” said Pee Wee Assistant Coach James Jensen.

TCYFCC was created by its highly respected and successful youth tackle football and cheerleading organizations in Hillsborough, Polk, and Pasco Counties on the west coast of Florida to provide a safe, secure, competitive and fun environment for children to learn tackle football and cheerleading.

The East Bay Buccaneers are a Florida non-profit organization that sponsors youth cheerleading for ages 4 to 14 and full contact football teams for ages 5 to 14.

The program sported more than 200 cheerleaders and 175 football players this season and managed to impress the conference with all five teams turning in a strong performance, while calling the recently renovated field at 10310 Bullfrog Creek in Gibsonton their home.

All coaches and board members are unpaid volunteers and all are proud of what the young players were able to accomplish.

The Buccaneers 2014 Conference included games against the Brandon Lions, New Tampa, Pinecrest, Turkey Creek, Lakeland Eagles, Dover Patriots, Brandon Cowboys, Lakeland Gators, Antioch Redskins, Plant City Dolphins and Wesley Chapel Cowboys.

This year’s Super Bowl also crowned the Brandon Cowboys JV as Small Division Grand Champions and the Brandon Cowboys Varsity as Large Division Grand Champions

For more information about TCYFCC, visit

Previous articleUnited Methodist Church Of Sun City Center Offering Variety Of Concerts This Holiday Season
Next articleSpoto Reaches Regional Semifinals, Bloomingdale, Durant, Plant City Ends Post Season Early