By Kathy L. Collins

In May, the medical staff at Brandon Regional Hospital awarded 20 $1,000 scholarships to students graduating from area high schools. The scholarships were presented by Brandon Regional Hospital’s Chief of Staff, Michael Siegman, MD, and Suketu Shah, MD, Representative at Large for the Medical Executive Committee.

The high school scholarship recipients are selected from high schools located in Eastern Hillsborough County. Additional scholarships are awarded to hospital employee dependents.

The following individuals received the 2015 Medical Staff Scholarships at the awards ceremony: Natalia Alonso-Diaz, Middleton High School; Geldine Ambroise, Lennard High School; Melanie Canizares, East Bay High School; Jailene Caraballo, Strawberry Crest High School; Ashlymol George, Strawberry Crest High School; Makayla Harrison, Strawberry Crest High School; Tye Hendrix, Riverview High School; Marisa Lara, Strawberry Crest High School; Aurora McClure, Newsome High School; Kyle Miller, Plant City High School; Ashley Nicole Parker, Armwood High School; Riddhi Patel, Strawberry Crest High School; Justine Reeves, Durant High School; Jena Rogers, Brandon High School; Cody Sabando, Foundations High School and Thomas Yonkauske, Newsome High School.

The annual scholarships are funded through the dues that physicians pay to be a member of the medical staff at Brandon Regional Hospital.

Dr. Shah said, “By helping students early in their educational endeavors, we are helping them to be successful and helping the community at the same time.” Applications for the scholarships are made available in January. The Medical Executive Committee at Brandon Regional Hospital review the applications in its entirety and select the recipient based on overall achievement and excellence during their high school term.

Brandon Regional Hospital is located at 119 Oakfield Dr. in Brandon. For more information, visit

Previous articleNow Hear This Fills Entertainment Lineup For Summer Concert Series
Next articleTampa Bay Water Board Approves 2016 Budget, With No Rate Increase